Close this search box.

MHA recognizes Health Care Workforce for Innovations, Commitment to Quality, and Dedication to Patient Care

Four people stand outside at an awards reception

Forty hospital and health system teams and individuals from across Minnesota were recognized by MHA this week for their efforts to bolster the health care workforce and improve quality and safety in Minnesota’s nonprofit hospitals and health systems. The awards were presented at MHA’s Where Disciplines Meet: Putting Patient First Conference.  

“There is amazing work being done every day to provide the highest quality care to our patients”, said Dr. Rahul Koranne, president and CEO of MHA.  “It is not only incredibly important to honor the teams and individuals doing this work, but also valuable to convene these frontline leaders to share and learn from each other.”  

Those recognized by MHA include: 

  • Adverse Health Events Reductions: Risa Eckardt, Gillette Children’s Specialty Healthcare
  • Antibiotic Stewardship: North Shore Health 
  • Clinical and Quality Innovation:
    • Lori Reiland, Allina Health 
    • Ely-Bloomenson Community Hospital
    • Hennepin Healthcare  
    • Mayo Clinic Health System
    • Sanford Health Northern Minnesota Eye Clinics
  • Community Collaboration in Addressing Social Determinants of Health:
    • Hennepin Healthcare
    • Stevens Community Medical Center
  • Community Health Worker: Muhser Hser, Avera Marshall Regional Medical Center
  • Coordination Of Care:
    • North Memorial Health
    • Ridgeview Medical Center
  • Dietary Department of the Year: Lake View Hospital 
  • Environmental Services Department of the Year: Winona Health 
  • Good Catch for Patient Safety:
    • Marge Kuechle, CentraCare – St. Cloud Hospital 
    • Jordyn Buchanan, Allina Health
  • Health Care Workforce Champion: Alomere Health 
  • High Reliability Organization:
    • Allina Health
    • Riverwood Healthcare Center
  • Hiring and Recruiting:
    • Justin Weber, Ridgeview Medical Center 
    • Essentia Health
  • Pipelines and Partnerships: 
    • Essentia Health Duluth 
    • Lakeview Hospital
  • Organizational Culture, Infrastructure, and Commitment Award:
    • Cheryl Ferguson, Sanford Canby Medical Center 
    • Lake View Hospital
  • Retention and Resilience:
    • Matthew Witham, Gillette Children’s Specialty Healthcare
    • Allina Health
    • Hillery Shay, Children’s Minnesota
  • MHA Committee Stewardship: Dan Collins, Essentia Health 
  • MHA Partnership and Improvement Award: Winona Health
  • Nursing Assistant of the Year: Linda Lane, M Health Fairview Ridges Hospital
  • Patient And Family Engagement: Windom Area Health
  • Perinatal Improvement: Northfield Hospital & Clinics
  • Pharmacy Employee of the Year: Beth Hartshorn, Ely-Bloomenson Community Hospital
  • Quality And Safety Champion of the Year:
    • Jamie Kolman, M Health Fairview  
    • Heather Tverstol, Sanford Bemidji Medical Center
  • Substance Use Disorder Reduction:
    • Alomere Health
    • Direct Care and Treatment
  • Workplace Violence Prevention:  Regions Hospital

NOTE: Photos of the winners are available by request from their respective hospitals and health systems. 

For interviews and more information, contact Lou Ann Olson  or Tim Nelson. 


The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.